General Info

About Morocco
Capital Rabat
Time Zone WET (UTC+0) - Summer (DST)
Language Arabic (official) - French often the language of business, goverment, and diplomacy. - Berber dialects
Religion Muslim 98.7 %, Christian 1.1%, Jewish 0.2%
Populaion 33,993,000 ( 2009 estimate )
Currency Moroccan Dirham (MAD - DH)
Calling code +212

Morocco, officially the Kingdom of Morocco, is a country located in North Africa. It has a population of nearly 32 million and an area of 710,850 km², including the disputed Western Sahara which is mainly under Moroccan administration. Morocco has a coast on the Atlantic Ocean that reaches past the Strait of Gibraltar into the Mediterranean Sea. It is bordered by Spain to the north (a water border through the Strait and land borders with three small Spanish-controlled exclaves, Ceuta, Melilla, and Peñón de Vélez de la Gomera), Algeria to the east, and Mauritania to the south. Morocco is a de jure constitutional monarchy with an elected parliament. The King of Morocco holds vast executive powers, including dissolving parliament at will. Executive power is exercised by the government and by the king as well. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of parliament, the Assembly of Representatives and the Assembly of Councillors. The king can also issue decrees called dahirs which have the force of law. Parliamentary elections were held in Morocco on 7 September 2007, and were considered by some neutral observers to be mostly free and fair; although voter turnout was estimated to be 37%, the lowest in decades. The political capital is Rabat, and the largest city is Casablanca; other large cities include Marrakesh, Fez, Salé, Agadir, Tangier, Meknes, Oujda and Tetouan.